Thursday, June 01, 2006

Author Events This Weekend

Jesus, it's gonna be a a busy weekend.


Cornelia Read & Lee Child

Cornelia Read is in town this weekend along with Lee Child promoting their new books together.

Cornelia's been getting a lot of buzz lately for her debut novel, A Field of Darkness, about Madeline Dare, who finds herself embroiled (I like that word - makes me think of steak) in the investigation of a murder that happened twenty years before, which her cousin may have been a part of.

Lee's new book, The Hard Way is the tenth book in his Jack Reacher series, wherein Jack finds himself embroiled (mmmm, steak) in the search for the wife and daughter of mercenary Edward Lane.

Cornelia will be at The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood this Saturday at 5pm and Lee will be popping by there some time on Monday. They'll both be at Mysteries To Die For in Thousand Oaks on Monday at 1:00.

Barry Eisler

Barry Eisler will be signing his novel, The Last Assassin, the latest in the John Rain series.

From PW:
Japanese-American assassin John Rain would like to get out of the killing business in his fifth action-filled outing (after 2005's Killing Rain), see the son he's only just learned of and perhaps try to reconnect with Midori, the child's mother. But first there's the little matter of the Japanese gangster Yamaoto and Yamaoto's Chinese triad allies, who are watching over Rain's son in New York City, not to mention Delilah, the beautiful Mossad agent who shares Rain's occupation and his bed. Seizing the initiative, Rain enlists the aid of his super-sniper friend, Dox, in a campaign to remove Yamaoto. Rain and allies clash with their many powerful foes in combat scenes full of lovingly detailed descriptions of knives, guns and other martial paraphernalia. Amid the threats to life, limb and loved ones, Rain finds time to enjoy good food, better whiskey and even better sex. While most of the action takes place in Japan, Eisler handles all the story's locales, including Manhattan and Barcelona, with considerable aplomb.

Good whiskey and better sex? I am so there.

He'll be at The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood on Friday at 7pm and at Mysteries To Die For on Saturday at 1:00pm.

Lisa Unger

Lisa Unger promotes her new book, Beautiful Lies. New York freelancer Ridley Jones receives a photo and a note that may lead her to details about her past. Obligatory intrigue, action, yada-yada-yada. Good reviews. Sounds like fun.

Lisa will be signing at The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood some time on Friday and at Mysteries To Die For in Thousand Oaks the same day at 1:00pm.

Naomi Hirahara

Naomi Hirahara, author of the Mas Arai series, signs her latest, Snakeskin Shamesin at Book 'Em Mysteries in Pasadena, Saturday at 2pm.

Few things get curmudgeonly Japanese American gardener Mas Arai more excited than gambling, so when he hears about a pal's half-a-million dollar win—from a novelty slot machine!—he's torn between admiration and derision. Bu the stakes suddenly get higher when the winner is found stabbed to death; only a battered snakeskin shamisen (a traditional Okinawan musical instrument) may hold a clue to the killer's identity. Mas reluctantly agrees to follow the trail left by the shamisen—and soon uncovers a world of secrets and deceptions that stretches from the streets of L.A. to the islands of Okinawa.

Her first two books, Summer of The Big Bachi and Gasa Gasa Girl, were great, and there's no sign she's slowling down any.

Steve Brewer

Steve Brewer signs his new book, Whipsaw at The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood this Saturday at 6:00pm.

Ex-Marine Matt Donahue took – and lost – a job as security chief for a software company. When the company’s new video game, Whipsaw, is “codenapped,” Matt’s drafted to carry the ransom to the thieves – but, as always in a Steve Brewer novel, things don’t go the way they’re supposed to.


Gayle Lynds

Gayle Lynds will be signing copies of her novel, The Last Spymaster at Mysteries To Die For in Thousand Oaks saturday at 11:30am and at The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood on Sunday at 3:00pm.

Jay Tice was a master spy for the CIA before he sold American secrets to the Soviets, in the last days of the Cold War. Sentenced to life in a maximum-security federal prison, he disappears – and it’s up to Elaine Cunningham, part of a new generation of CIA agents, to hunt him down. THE LAST SPYMASTER is an espionage thriller in the grand tradition, and perfect for fans of Robert Ludlum and John LeCarre.


Thriller

Gayle Lynds, Denise Hamilton and Gregg Hurwitz sign copies of Thriller, the new International Thriller Writers collection of short stories at The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood on Sunday at 4:30.

With shorts by Lee Child, Lincoln Child, Alex Kava, Chris Mooney, Katherine Neville, Douglas Preston, Christopher Rice and others, this can't be anything but good.

And, as my island faring relatives are fond of saying, das it.

1 comment:

Sandra Ruttan said...

Well, I just found out Alexander McCall Smith is coming here in October.

We're just happy if we get a few authors of note in the field to drop by every couple of years. And maybe I'll get a chance to resume a chat about BC ferries and Vancouver that I was having with Sandy last year.